Thoughts approaching inauguration

Standard

Recently I read this:

And this…

http://www.npr.org/2017/01/12/509545778/in-surprise-send-off-president-obama-awards-biden-presidential-medal-of-freedom?utm_source=facebook.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=npr&utm_term=nprnews&utm_content=20170112

And it hit me that a new day is dawning in the U.S. in a very short time. And I’m not ready for it. Nor do I like it a whole lot. Reality has a funny way of hitting you at really random times (like at 2:00 PM on a Thursday in the middle of an INSANE week). The following post originally got written in my Facebook status window – because that’s what we do now when things are weighing on our minds – but then it grew past the point of appropriateness for Facebook. So I’ll post a link to this instead. Ha!

And now for my unsolicited thoughts on the upcoming journey we’re about to take:

I’m not entirely sure why but the reality of what is happening this month hit me just now. The dichotomy of the current and incoming administrations is stark and I admit that I’m fearful sometimes in thinking about the impact that’s going to have. Now, I also believe that God has not been dethroned and we are all going to make it so the fear doesn’t last. 🙂 But, I think the effects of what we’ve just gone through WILL last. My thoughts as we approach “the big day”:

– Based on what I have observed, civility, kindness, and honoring others will not be the first things that emanate from this incoming administration. To me that means, rather than complain about that fact, we the people get to emanate it instead. Is it ideal? No. We want our leaders to display those things. The reality is that we’ve got to lead by example here when our leader(s) cannot (or will not). We don’t just get to throw our hands in the air and say “I can’t because they don’t.” We’re better than that.

– I’m taking a moment and honor the outgoing administration. I spent most of the past 8 years disagreeing with some of the politics of it but I was continually reminded of the humanity of the folks involved and sheer gravity of the job that faced them. This NPR article and President Obama’s farewell speech were yet another reminder. These are imperfect, broken people who are leading other imperfect, broken people and somehow we expect them to make perfect decisions that fully encapsulate everyone’s needs. I’m tired of the partisanship just like everyone else. So how do I own fixing a small piece of it?

– I’m going to be intentional about listening to both sides. I have strong feelings about Trump as President but I will still listen (even if I’m saying that through gritted teeth). 🙂 I also think this means listening to people in my life whose position I don’t get. Collectively, we’ve stopped listening and started shouting far more. We have enough noise – I need to own my part in taking it down a notch.

– I am trusting that God knows what he’s doing. Not only that, if I believe that He works all things for good everywhere else, then I get to believe it here. I think there are a lot of Christians excited about the incoming administration because it’s seen as a return to conservative values. I don’t share that view and yet I can understand it. No one besides God knows truly what the future holds so I’m going to stay in my lane and trust Him.

I felt like all of this was worth saying 1) because it actually came out coherently (I think) and 2) because I doubt I’m the only one struggling with the direction of our country recently. That is all. 🙂

About erinhenlinspeaks

Erin is a speaker and corporate leadership development trainer and has been in learning and development for over 10 years. From the early days of her career, her one desire has been to make an impact on people. She has a unique ability to engage with her audience and create experiences that inspire change and action. She is poised, articulate and delivers her message with passion. Over the past several years, God has been leading Erin into part time ministry. She currently serves as the Director of Leadership Development at The Crossing in Las Vegas. She also speaks and teaches the Share Your Story workshop for Ignite Life, a local city-wide women’s ministry. Erin’s goal is to motivate you to discover your unique wiring, encourage you to live intentionally, and inspire you to find your voice and share your story. She is passionate about helping people develop skills and knowledge that will empower them to answer Jesus’ call in their lives. Erin has lived in Las Vegas for 12 years and has two feline “fur-kids,” Eric and Diego. She feels that God has called her to use her professional skills to further the kingdom and she is so excited that Jesus has entrusted her with a small piece of His plan!

Leave a Reply

